rubix (2012)

Both playful and abstract, this quartet investigates resonances between Indian classical dance’s spatial geometry and ang (lines of the body) with improvisational structures drawn from American postmodern dance.  rubix is compositionally inspired by Carol McDowell’s surrender (2009), based on Trisha Brown’s Locus (1975) and Barbara Dilley’s grid score, as well as Richard Schechner’s Rasaboxes.

Choreographic direction: Cynthia Ling Lee
Movement and improvisational performance: Yoshi Jacobsen, Shahrin Johry, Sheridan Newman, and Melody Tee
Music: “Double Music” by John Cage and Lou Harrison; “First Interlude,” “Second Interlude,” and “Third Interlude” from John Cage’s Prepared Piano Sonatas
Commissioned by Maya Dance Theatre (Singapore).
Special thanks to Carol McDowell, the Desijam Collective, Khanhsong Nguyen, Jazmyne Koch, Rebecca Van Dover and Hillary Pokrywka.


photo: YaYa Chou
Compromised Interpretation (2009)
rubix (2012)
8590813915_47d73b77be_o_photo by Michelle Magalong
Super Ruwaxi: Origins (2014)
photo: Yong-En Huang
You Ain’t Never Gonna Get Me Down (2010)